Luther Dickinson

Luther Dickinson

Genre: Rock & Americana | Price: $2,500 - $10,000


About The Artist

A gifted guitarist with an eclectic range of influences, Luther Dickinson has earned a reputation as an innovator in modern blues while also having a keen understanding and respect for its rich history. Whether co-leading the North Mississippi Allstars with his drummer brother Cody, recording and performing solo, or collaborating with regional artists ranging from Jimbo Mathus and Sharde Thomas to Amy LaVere and Alvin Youngblood Hart, his devotion to and experiments with roots sounds from the American South is total: blues, rockabilly, gospel, folk, and raw funky soul are a few of the genres he indulges and recombines on a mercurial collection of recordings. Early garage blues offerings included his participation on Othar Turner's Rising Star Fife & Drum Band's single, "Field Recordings from Gravel Springs, Mississippi," in 1995, Spencer Dickinson (Luther, Cody and Jon Spencer) in 2001 the North Mississippi Allstars' Electric Blue Watermelon (2005) showcased a rough and rowdy approach to blues and blues-rock, equally inspired by their father, RL Burnside, Jerry Lee Lewis, Charlie Feathers, and Junior Kimbrough. While the Allstars recorded only when they had something new to say, Dickinson spread his wings and worked as a producer and sideman with artists who included Willy DeVille, Patty Griffin, and John Hiatt, and initiated many of his own projects such as the Word with Cody, Robert Randolph, and John Medeski, the Hill Country Revue, and Memphis String Band with Hart and Mathus. In 2013 he worked on Shannon McNally's acclaimed Small Town Talk (Songs of Bobby Charles), LaVere's Runaway's Diary, and his own raucous Rock 'N Roll Blues. In 2017 the North Mississippi Allstars released their most critically acclaimed and globally successful album Prayer for Peace, and two years later dropped Solstice, billed to Luther Dickinson & the Sisters of the Strawberry Moon, a collective that included all female vocalists including Thomas, LaVere, Birds of Chicago, and Amy Helm.